Laver Cup 2022 rules explained: How the tournament’s format works, what the teams are and schedule in full

The Laver Cup is one of the newer tournaments on the ATP Tour schedule, with the fifth edition of the annual event being held at London’s O2 Arena this weekend.

The three-day spectacle is the brainchild of Roger Federer and named after the great Rod Laver, with both in attendance in London.

The retiring Federer is part of Team Europe, who are captained by Bjorn Borg, and they take on John McEnroe’s Team World in a series of singles and doubles matches.

READ ALSO;   Mourinho has turned me to a monster – Tammy Abraham

There are no ATP points on offer, but there is still a trophy to be won come Sunday.

More from Tennis

Here’s how the tournament works…

Laver Cup locations and teams

The inaugural edition of the Laver Cup was held in Prague in 2017, and bar 2020 – due to Covid – the event has swapped yearly between Europe and the USA.

In 2018 it was Chicago, then Geneva 2019 and Boston 2021, with Vancouver 2023 and Berlin 2024 already pencilled in after London 2022.

READ ALSO;   Bus crashes into Auckland barrier, dangles from bridge
(L-R) Britain's Andy Murray, Serbia's Novak Djokovic, Switzerland's Roger Federer and Spain's Rafael Nadal pose during a Team Europe practice session ahead of the 2022 Laver Cup at the O2 Arena in London on September 22, 2022. (Photo by Glyn KIRK / AFP) / RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE (Photo by GLYN KIRK/AFP via Getty Images)
(L-R) Andy Murray, Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal are part of Team Europe (Photo: AFP)

The tournament pits six top European players against six Americans (plus one “alternate”, aka back-up), with three of the six players qualifying based on their ATP ranking after the French Open, and the other three picked by the captains, who have been Borg and McEnroe since the event’s inception.

Injuries and withdrawals can also dictate the line-up, while this year Team Europe consists of four top-10 players plus Andy Murray and Federer, while Taylor Fritz is the highest-ranked player for Team World.

Laver Cup 2022 teams

Team Europe

Captain: Bjorn Borg | Vice-captain: Thomas Enqvist

Players (ATP ranking in brackets)

  • Casper Ruud (2)
  • Rafael Nadal (3)
  • Stefanos Tsitsipas (6)
  • Novak Djokovic (7)
  • Andy Murray (43)
  • Roger Federer (n/a)
  • Matteo Berrettini (15) – alternate

Team World

Captain: John McEnroe | Vice-captain: Patrick McEnroe


  • Taylor Fritz (12)
  • Felix Auger-Aliassime (13)
  • Diego Schwartzman (17)
  • Frances Tiafoe (19)
  • Alex de Minaur (22)
  • Jack Sock (128)
  • Tommy Paul (29) – alternate

How to win the Laver Cup

The event takes place across five sessions. Two on Friday, two on Saturday, then a final session on Sunday.

All matches are best of three sets, and on both Friday and Saturday, the first session features two singles matches, with the evening session featuring a singles then doubles match.

On Sunday, the session starts with a doubles match, and will be followed by singles matches until a team reaches 13 points.

So. Points…

Every match won on Friday is worth one point, on Saturday it is two points, and Sunday it is three points.

That makes for a maximum of 24 points on offer, and if the teams are tied at 12-12 then there will be a doubles match to conclude the action on Sunday and decide the winner.

Last year, Team Europe won 14-1, and in the event that only one match is required on Sunday, an exhibition follows before the trophy ceremony.

Full Laver Cup schedule

Saturday and Sunday’s matches and doubles pairings are TBC, but the schedule looks as follows:

All times BST – Team Europe player(s) on left

Friday 23 September

1pm Day Session

  • Match 1 – Casper Ruud vs Jack Sock – Singles
  • Match 2 – Stefanos Tsitsipas vs Diego Schwartzman – Singles

7pm Night Session

  • Match 3 – Andy Murray vs Alex de Minaur – Singles
  • Match 4 – Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal vs Jack Sock and Frances Tiafoe – Doubles

Saturday 24 September

1pm Day Session

  • Match 5 – Singles
  • Match 6 – Singles

7pm Night Session

  • Match 7 – Singles
  • Match 8 – Doubles

Sunday 25 September

12pm Day Session

  • Match 9 – Doubles
  • Match 10 – Singles*
  • Match 11 – Singles*
  • Match 12 – Singles*

*The winning team must reach 13 points to win the Laver Cup. In the event of a tie after all 12 matches are played, a final doubles match – a decider – is played.

Any other rules?

There are a few more. Each player must compete in at least one singles match in the first two days, although this year Federer is only fit for one doubles match on Friday and will be replaced by alternate Matteo Berrettini on Saturday.

Beyond that, no player can play singles more than twice over the course of the three days, while at least four of the six players must play doubles. However, the same doubles combination cannot be used more than once unless a decider is required on Sunday.


.. Don’t Miss Out On The Latest Happening >>> More Gist  @ >>   HypeGist
Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.